When to transplant seedlings

Phoenix, AZ

For those of you growing vines and other plants from seeds indoors, when are you going to transplant them outside? mahalo, sam

Phoenix, AZ

Last week ;)

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

Confucious say:

Best time to plant tree
20 years ago

Second best time to plant tree
Now

Or something like that. ;))

Anyway, I'm wondering the same thing as sam. some of my starts are now about 4" tall. I have some good instructions at home and if no one else offers info before I get myself back to the home computer, I'll post what those instructions say. Seems I got the info from the Propagation forum here at Dave's. That's it for now....gotta go earn my two cents for the day!!

Mary

Mesa, AZ(Zone 9b)

Next wed is supposed to be quite chilly for the outskirts, so if you haven't already transplanted it might be a good idea to wait one more week. Or not...I don't know, I'm still kind of new to all this :-)

Phoenix, AZ(Zone 9b)

sam, Here's what the instructions say: (I got them from Diane's Seeds, whose seeds had the absolute highest germination rate of all the ones I planted. Got Granpa Otts MG from her and germination is almost 100%!)

10. After the seedlings have developed their second set of leaves (the "true" leaves), it's time to use some seaweed fertilizer. Add the seaweed at half the strength recommended on the bottle. Fertilize about once a week, adding the fertilizer to the water that you put in the bottom of the tray. [Ed. note: I have been using very diluted liquid seaweed fertilizer mixed with distilled water, hydrogen peroxide and superthrive from the very beginning, fwiw - mm]