The one thing I don't understand about winter sowing:

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

is when to transplant the seedlings into their (permanent) spot? Some say transplant when the seedling's a certain size, and some say transplant at a certain date (for one's zone). I'm really at a loss. A plant which is normally sown after last frost date -- should this wait, or is it just a bad candidate for w/sing? I have looked through the threads and plant lists and it seems to me that many plants I would have thunk not good for w/sing have prospered: and I wonder, when were they transplanted? My last frost date is around May 10.

Sorry is this is something that's been addressed repeatedly. I really have been reading, but maybe I missed something.

Crivitz, WI(Zone 4b)

Hi Zeppy....you are not alone. This is my first year at winter sowing.I have 25 milk jugs sitting outside in the snow. Right now the snow has covered them so I can't even see where they are....I have no idea what to do when the snow is gone (except to dance for joy) I want to get out there and start digging.
Hope someone will give us some tips on what to do next :0)

Auburn, MA(Zone 5b)

I know....that was one of my biggest questions when I first started WS. Usually, by the time the seedlings are big enought to transplant, it's warm enough outside.....those little seedlings know what their doing. ;) I transplant them when they have their first true leaves. I know, that seems early and they do look so vulnerable out there all by themselves (can you say....separation anxiety?). But they really take off once they're in the ground. You just have to make sure you water them alot.

When I plant them out, I use what's known as the "hunk-of-seedlings" method. I take a square inch of sprouts, dirt and all, and tuck them in the soil. Since I tend to sow heavily, there might be about 10 to 20 seedlings in the hunk. That's fine, since the weak ones won't survive.

Hope this helps......

Crivitz, WI(Zone 4b)

Hi merryma,