What to grow WITH sweet peas?

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

Sweet peas are lovely in the spring, but what's good to take over their spot when the weather turns warmer? What do you like to pair or layer sweet peas with?

Santa Barbara County, CA(Zone 9a)

One time I tried them with my (very young and not very big) Golden Hops 'Aureus', and it worked really well. I usually plant the old-fashioned Cupani or Matucana sweet peas (they're purple and fuchsia/magenta), and they look great vining among the chartreuse hops. I'm not sure how well this would work if the hops plant was bigger (it might crowd out the more delicate sweet peas), but the chartreuse/purple combo is a winner. Probably any dark-flowered sweet peas would look equally good against the golden hops.

Thanks; I'll look into that. I'm new to annuals (well, not vegetables) and this is really helpful.

South West, LA(Zone 9a)

I like to plant my sweet peas on a trellis behind mixed larkspur. The colors go well togeather and it seems to better cover the trellis. I have also used red poppys in the past.
Caren

Hmm, well, as I'm putting sweet peas in a few places, I'll have a chance to try all these ideas. Thanks very much!

west Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

I follow them with cukes Zeppy.

Or where you are at try starting moonvine up the trellis when they start fading.

(Zone 7a)

I'm toying with following sweet peas this year with some Japanese morning glories Emmagrace traded seed of to me late last summer. Maybe a hedge of purple basil in front of the less vigorous JMGs? They'd have to be grown on a bit in pots before the sweet peas decide they've had enough summer heat. Or a hedge of white 4'Oclocks in front of a dark violet purple JMG? That last combo would really be enhanced by a stand of ferny, chartreus-y dill in the vicinity.

Mystic, CT(Zone 6b)