backyard birds

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

Hi-
I've enjoyed everyone's pictures and now have a few of my own to share. I am new at bird watching, so I'm taking my best guess at identifying these. Enjoy!
I think this first one is a carolina wren.

Thumbnail by ambercoakley
Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

Here is a chickadee...

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

I'm really not sure about this one. I am guessing a junco finch?

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

Here's a great male cardinal picture!

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

And Mrs. Cardinal...

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

Is this a finch of some kind?

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

Mockingbirds are so great, so bold, so ready to pose!

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

This is my favorite bird, but so hard to get a picture of. I think this is a female yellow-bellied sapsucker woodpecker.
(added the sapsucker part, thanks magpye)

This message was edited Jan 29, 2006 12:38 AM

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

Is this a tufted titmouse?

Plano, TX(Zone 7b)

Ok, last one, and this one is blurry. It is a cedar waxwing, I think. It arrived in a flock, but way up in the tree.

NW Qtr, AR(Zone 6a)

Welllll, wouldja jes look at you .. taking and posting all those wonderful pitters of your feathered pals there in Texas!! .. Yay!! More (and 'fresh') birdie pics!! You've done yourself (and 'us') proud .. Thanks for sharing them with us!!

Don't recall seeing your 'user' name pop up anywhere near by, before .. so, I'd like to offer a big ol 'hearty' welcome to DG, to ya!!

'Way to go' ambercoakley! And some mitey fine shots, indeedy!! Ya seem to have most all of the 'common' names pretty much down-pat to boot!

I believe your {finch of some kind} is the female Purple Finch .. and your {this is a female yellow-bellied woodpecker] .. is more akin to the male 'Yeller-bellied' Sapsucker! (No kiddin' - they're for real) .. heehee ..

I'm gonna leave them 'fancy' name assignments .. for the more 'authoritative' others, to step up to help you there! .. lol ..