Temperatures Help!

Silsbee, TX(Zone 9a)

I can't believe that temps are the thing I'm worried about with w/s! Usually we are around 0*, or in the teens this time of year. This year we are hitting 40*! I haven't sown anything yet, this is my first year w/s. I don't know how big of a deal this is. Any suggestions? I'm just concerned the seeds would germ too fast then the sprouts would freeze in two weeks when it gets back to normal temps. But, if I wait too long to w/s will my plants be too far behind where I want them to be come spring? Help!
Heather

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

What are your temps at night? Remember - there are seeds silently hanging out in your yard right now - that you didn't plant, mother nature did.

Ellicott City, MD(Zone 7a)

Heather, don't stress over the daytime temps being in the 40's. My daytime temps have been in the 50's! However, the nightime temps will dip into the 20's to 30's. Also, the amount of sunlight during the Winter is much less than what we experience during the Summer. All these factors contribute to germination. Relax! You've got all Winter to sow your seeds!!

Silsbee, TX(Zone 9a)

Thank you! *I'm taking a big sigh of relief now.* The earliest I've ever got to start my plants indoors was March and I just couldn't wait to get things started in Jan! I may actually have blooms at the same time the nurseries do...ha ha ha. :)

So, I'm going to Wal-Mart tomorrow to get some duct tape and cheap soil and get started.

Thanks again!
Heather

Byron, GA

heathrjoy,
Use that duct tape sparingly. It is a struggle to get it off come spring without damaging your seedlings. Doesn't take much to secure the tops of your containers.
I already have had to fight the stuff to get at seedlings that needed to be transplanted. Wrapped it all around my milk jugs to keep the wind from blowing the tops off. Now I just wire the top to the bottom or just push the top down into the bottom until the seeds germinate.
Digs

Silsbee, TX(Zone 9a)