Missed the garlic boat?

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

I've been given a bag of seed garlic. It's from some nice heads harvested in late summer that I'd hoped to get sooner for fall planting, but oh well. When should I plant them, here in zone 6? And what can I expect by way of a harvest? Also, must they be planted in a particular position? I'm new at garlic, so any advice is welcome.

AGHHHHHHH. No one?

Ijamsville, MD(Zone 6b)

Anybody? I am interested to know the answers to this one!

My guesses - plant the cloves pointed end up (not the attachment end) about a cloves length into the ground in the spring. Use as garlic chives or wait until next year to harvest as bulbs. There - that's my guess.

-Kim

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)

Zeppy, I would expect the ground to be frozen, by January, I use to live in Radford (zone 6) and spent quite a few years in the Charlottesville, area (z 7). Not a garlic grower, but from the cultural instructions it appears that anytime in the fall early winter before the ground freezes is good. Spring planting works, but the bulbs will be smaller since the daylenght triggers will be missed. http://www.naturalhub.com/grow_vegetable_type_garlic.htm
http://pubs.caes.uga.edu/caespubs/pubcd/C854.htm#Garlic%20Culture
http://ohioline.osu.edu/hyg-fact/1000/1627.html
http://www.extension.umn.edu/distribution/cropsystems/DC7317.html
http://thegarlicstore.com/index.cgi/howto.html

Wonderful; thanks!

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

Yep, Fall planting is what I do here and that's what it takes for me to get good-sized bulbs (harvest around June/July).

However, you can also go ahead and start your cloves in cell packs, Zeppy. The deep six-packs are good if you have some left over from last year. This way the cloves can start growing their roots now and have a bit of a head start rather than waiting till Spring. Or, if you have a nice-sized container then fill it with soil mix and plant directly in there now.