Wintersowing container question

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

ok, so I started this past weekend, but I have a major concern....did I overwater my containers? Now I am reading how people mist or 'sprayed' their containers before planting the seed. I've never done any seed planting before - w/sing or otherwise. I poured the water in and let it drain - it was definitely wet when I sowed seed. Is this wrong? I do have alot of drainage slits. I used gallon jugs and put 3 slits in each quadrant as well as 4 down the center seam. I also put several all the lower 'walls' of the container.

Any thoughts?

~Anita

Missouri City, TX(Zone 9a)

Anita

sometimes seeds will mildew/mold when they are too wet, but you are probably ok. Drainage is the biggest thing, you don't want them to sit in water. When I plant seeds I water rather than mist. Hang in there, you will or should see, seedlings in no time.
Good luck!

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

Thanks April -

Ffld County, CT(Zone 6b)

Hi Anita! I'm new to this site, but I've been wintersowing for 4 years. I always thoroughly wet my containers (with the soil in them) in the sink before sowing the seed. I let them drain for about 15 minutes and then sow. As April says, drainage is key, so as long as you have enough drainage holes you should be fine. Just keep an eye on them, especially as it warms up outside. If you think they are becoming too wet, you can always poke more holes in them. It also might help to have the holes along the very bottom of the sides of the container, rather than on the bottom itself. This may allow for better drainage (I've started putting my drainage holes there this year, although I've never had a problem with bottom holes in the past. Just an extra added precaution!)

Good luck!
:)
Dee

Long Island, NY(Zone 6b)

Thanks Dee - I plan on being very holely this weekend!!!

~Anita

Indianapolis, IN

Anita--you are going to become soooo addicted. Some suggestions for a newbie (based on my own mistakes):