What eats broccoli?

west Houston, TX(Zone 9a)

I live in Houston....the suburbs. I garden in my backyard which is fenced in with a 6-foot wooden privacy fence. Since Thanksgiving, I have been faithfully waiting for my fall broccoli to head up. Finally, I had quarter sized heads and went out there after 2 days to check their progress (it poured down rain those 2 days) and something had eatten all the broccoli heads. Needless to say I'm not a happy camper after "babying" those plants thru the super hot autumn we have had. The plants look like somebody literally took a knife to them and harvested them. I've been growing broccoli in the fall for 12 years here and never seen anything like it. My lettuce and cabbage is untouched. The much smaller broccoli plants are untouched. The garlic has not been disturbed. I haven't seen rabbits around here in about 4 years. Do rats eat broccoli? Occasionally I see one of those in the winter but not the summer. Perhaps one came in from the fields they clear to build ever more houses on out here in west Houston? Any ideas? I'm baffled....never seen anything like it before. Never saw cabbage loppers this year either--expected trouble from them but the leaves are all untouched.
Debbie

Brockton, MA(Zone 6a)

If they are clearing land nearby you can expect all kinds of new visitors. Check around the bottom of your fence for openings. I've had house sparrows eat broccoli most summers but they just nibble the tops. Opossum, racoons too! Rats eat anything.
Andy P

I never thought of raccoons and oppossums. Just because I've never seen them doesn't mean they aren't there! I kinda figured rats weren't too picky. I hope these guys move along in the cold weather out of my yard!

Stephentown, NY

In the northeast, broccoli is the favorite plant for woodchucks...aka groundhogs. Their addiction is such that high voltage fences, angry Labs and 25-06s will not always deter them.