Stuck on storytelling at the library

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom

I've run into problems re telling stories on a volunteer basis at the local public library. They've never had anyone doing this on a volunteer basis before so the young librarian that I spoke to before isn't very keen on pushing it. I've got to go through the Disclosure thing. Not a problem - it takes a few weeks and I'm willing to pay for it myself.

The library service is clogged up with all sorts of other issues. My request is near the bottom of the pile. It's just not important to them. It's not even going to get considered for goodness knows how many weeks. I've also said that I'm willing to submit a word processed letter and give them references from the professional storytellers who taught me at the workshop. As a professionally qualified librarian myself (I have more qualifications than the young librarian who I've been liaising with!) I think this reflects very badly on the local library service.

I'll have to consider other ways of getting experience. Perhaps at Stockton libraries (who already employ storytellers occasionally) - the neighbouring town. Maybe I'll even drop a letter to the professional librarianship journal that I still receive. Do a bit of stirring. It would look very bad for Middlesbrough if Stockton accepts me instead and I did good stuff there!

GGRRRR!!!!

Mount Prospect, IL(Zone 5a)

Its worth a try! I just cannot fathom the stupidity of these librarians. I think if you are able to make waves, make BIG ones. It sounds like they are a little bit afraid because of your experience in the library fields and someone might be displaced if they hired you.
Even with you volunteering, and you ARE good, they must be worried someone big might discover how excellent you are and yet how you are "not" good enough to be officially hired!