Florida Plant Trading

St Augustine, FL(Zone 9a)

I am posting this on the Florida Gardening discussion because I need plants that will grow in Florida and that I can plant now.

I just retired to zone 9b (The Villages in Sumter County) and am planting a butterfly/hummingbird garden. I need the following plants: Lantana camara and keyenesis; Firebush (hamelia patens); Penta lanceolate (red and pink); salvia greggii, salvia elegans, salvia coccinea; salvia guaranitica; and sedum spectabile (red). Since funds are low and since I am just establishing a garden in Florida (came from Massachusetts) I don't have any plants to trade but do have the following: New packaged pill holder boxes, pill alarms, decorating and gardening books, old knitting books. I am a retired nurse practitioner with special knowledge in herbals and vitamins for various health problems and would be more than willing to trade information for plants too. Thanks so much in advance!! Karen

Ocoee (W. Orlando), FL(Zone 9b)

Karen, let me look to see what I have left out there...and get back to you. I'm also in 9b, so I know if it blooms in my yard, it will also bloom in yours!
MerryMary

Panhandle, FL(Zone 8a)

I will take a look too nurse....get back with you later.
Connie

edited to say: WELCOME to Florida!!!

This message was edited Nov 27, 2005 5:55 PM

Thanks SO much for the warm welcome and the generosity!! Karen

Taylor Creek, FL(Zone 10a)

Karen, Where in the state is this retirement place? I have a duranta that the butterflies LOVE. I'll air layer some for you. I will also keep you in mind in the spring when these things refurbish themselves.
Sidney

Hi Sidney, The Villages is 20 miles south of Ocala in Central Florida (Lady Lake) and I am in Sumter County. I would love some duranta even though I know nothing about it and have never heard of it (boy do I have a lot to learn). Thanks so much. Karen