Marigold seeds

Rockford, IL(Zone 5a)

I went over to my Aunt house today and snatch her Marigold seeds.
Some of the pictures turned out to be blury, but this is the best of all the one I took.

Linda

Thumbnail by creadman
Albany, OR(Zone 8a)

I will tell you a trick on marigold seeds tho.
I found this out the hard way.
Those black seeds aren't all good viable seeds.
The black seeds need to feel hard. If they feel empty or soft, there isn't a good embryo in that seed.
Just a tip I have. Tho this can be true for most seeds. There needs to be a hard part of the seed so it can grow. I work for a grass seed company so I do know that for even grass seeds.
Carol

Brockton, MA(Zone 6a)

I've been saving my Marigold seed for 20 years. I just take an old coffee can out and drop a bunch in that. I leave it uncovered in the cool basement all winter. I toss them around in the veggie garden in spring and move them where ever / when ever I need a few.
Great little flowers.
Andy P

Thumbnail by Sarahskeeper
Albany, OR(Zone 8a)

That sure is a pretty picture of a marigold.
What is the name of it?
Would you be interested in trading it with me?
Carol

Brockton, MA(Zone 6a)

Carol, Friends gave me these seed way back when. They only said that they had been saving the seed for many years and liked them. No name.
If you want to see them in more detail they are featured in a short Photo Show I compiled a couple of months ago. Click on the 'Autumn Marigold Patch' show.
http://Photoshow.comcast.net/fantasyfinishes/favorites
These occasionally do the color 'Echo' thing, really cool. (Not this year though)
If you want seed, just DM me with your address and I'll send you some.
Andy P

Dillonvale, OH(Zone 6a)

Sarahskeeper, those are AWESOME marigolds, went and looked at the photoshow, so cool :)

Janis

Lubbock, TX(Zone 7a)

Great Show! Wouldn't have missed it.

Rockford, IL(Zone 5a)

Thank you for the tip Daisy

Albany, OR(Zone 8a)

Any time.

Weymouth, MA

Sarah's keeper