"heirloom" tomatoes that don't taste right

(Zone 7b)

Feeling frustrated with the bland no-taste tomato starts available here in town, I grew "brandywine" from Stokes seed this year -but they were almost bitter, not sweet the way they should be. Looking for a good variety with a nice sweet taste - sort of like a large variety with the taste of something like "sweet 100" cherry tomatoes - any suggestions?

Audubon, PA(Zone 6b)

How about trying " Kellogg's Breakfast"?? I grew it this year and found it to be a large, yellow-orange, sweet and delicious tomato. Will grow it again!
LD

Timberlea, NS(Zone 6a)

Daylily: I grew Brandywine from Veseys this year and I was none too impressed, either.

It's hard to know what will taste good in any given year since weather conditions seem to have a crucial impact on flavour. Plus, some things will taste great to one person, and be totally lost on another.

I'm new to heirlooms, so I tried a few this year to get a feel for them. I grew Druzba, Yellow Brandywine, Cherokee Purple, Abe Lincoln, Rutgers, Dr Carolyn, Green Sausage, "Lumpy Red" (that had been crossed with something else) and one called "Rinaldo" (came from an Italian lady in Michigan). They all taste different. I am learning that you really *do* have to try them to see what you like.

I have seeds, both purchased and saved--would you like a few to try? I can't guarantee the saved ones will be true to type, but they should be interesting anyways (I'm hoping you share my sense of adventure, lol!) D-mail me if you're interested.

Rhonda

(Zone 7b)

emaewest, you have a d-mail, and thanks for the offer!

cottonpicker, where do I find "Kellogs Breakfast?" not in any of my catalogues.

(Zone 7b)

Oh boy, 4 more sites to drool over, many thanks.

Audubon, PA(Zone 6b)

daylily2zeus.... Kellogg's Breakfast from:: VICTORY SEEDS, PO Box 192, Molalla, OR 97038. OR, on-line: www.VictorySeeds.com

Good luck!
LD

Alexandria, IN(Zone 6a)