a good book about seed saving??

Mansfield, TX(Zone 8a)

I am very new to saving seeds for next season, and am having a hard time knowing where seeds are on some plants, how to harvest and when, etc. Does anyone know of a really good reference book about this? I've looked in the DG bookworm, but am having trouble making a decision. What I am really looking for is a book about where to look for seeds, how to harvest, and how to germinate, and am about to decide it doesn't exist. Please help.

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

There are two that I reccomend...one for flowers and one for veggies. Both are priceless.

From Seed To Bloom by Eileen Powell is one for annuals and flowers

Seed to Seed by Suzanne Ashworth is for all forms of edibles.

The best two investments that someone wanting to save seeds can make...there's good crossover info in each too..

Mansfield, TX(Zone 8a)

I have Powell's book, but haven't seen a lot of info about how to collect the seeds, just germination. Like I said, I am very new to this - took me forever to figure out petunias and I'm still not sure I have it right :-)

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

Hmmm....I never thought about the seed pods...I guess growing up in a rural area, you just take this for granted...I've never had to hunt for a seed bearing pod.

The best advice that I can give is watch your flowers through the whole process...as the buds form and mature, you'll see how the flower itself is created. Then the flower blooms and fades. Usually, there is a 'nub' of some kind left right where the sexual parts of the flower were. If the pollen reaches the ovary, then it will swell and grow. As this 'nub' grows, it will form the shape of the seed pod of that species.

As it matures, some will show bumps of seeds, some will be capsules, but if you look at the spent blossoms of the plant, You'll see the same shape repeated over and over.