When do I collect seeds from jewels of opar?

Chickamauga, GA(Zone 7a)

I have a jewels of Opar full of seeds right now when do I collect them? They are a orange/yellow color right now should they be a certain color before collecting them? I dont want them to drop and reseed where the plant is now.

Thumbnail by Gardening_in_GA
Huntington Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

This is my first year for my Opar also, so I just waited to see how the seeds would dry on the plant. They go from the orange to a papery brown color. When you pinch the seed head, it will burst open with lots of little seeds inside.

Just wait for it to turn brown.

Donna

Chickamauga, GA(Zone 7a)

thanks very much! Do you know if it is easy to start these from seed? I just really love the look of this plant.

Huntington Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

I can't say for sure, but from what I have read, they will reseed easily.

Frederick, MD(Zone 6b)

I started some inside last spring, 6 weeks BLF, and they did fine. I've also heard they self-sow readily, so you could probably just direct sow them in GA (fall or winter sow on bare ground).

Camilla, GA(Zone 8a)

May not be in your zone, but here in 8, they are a huge pest. I love them because my grandmother gave them to me over 30 years ago, but they reseed so heavily that they are considered a weed here.

Larkie

Chickamauga, GA(Zone 7a)

WOW really? I havent seen any in peoples yards or anything...I picked it up half dead from the Lowes clearance table for I think .50 and we put it in the ground and it was just a cute little shrub then the pink things started growing and I really like it now!

It has never been a hard plant to take care of and with sooo many seeds hangging from it right now I think I can see how it could just start growing so easy and become a problem!

But like I said I havent seen any around this part before didnt even know what they were before I bought this one and looked it up online. Thanks for the heads up though!

Greensboro, NC(Zone 7a)