Ornamental Grasses

Thornton, IL

What is your favorite ornamental grass and why?

Also, what plants did you combine them with?

So far, and I'm new at this, I've grown fountain grass (annual and perennial), feather reed grass (no flowers this year, planted it too late), switch grass, and two miscanthus cultivars: 'Arabesque' and 'Rotsilber', as well as dwarf zebra grass, blue oat grass and little bluestem. Waited too late to find good blue fescues, so I went with dianthus instead. It was a great choice, as it is flowering now (again) and makes a nice, contrasting edging.

This message was edited Aug 26, 2005 8:03 PM

Proctorville, OH(Zone 5b)

You may want to post this over at the grass & bamboo forum. You have a great variety of grasses.
My favorite changes everytime I look at a different grass!
Abigail

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Hi, prairie girl and So.OH--

I didn't realize there was a 'grass forum' and I'll have to look there for more info, too.

do you have some pics of your plantings--sounds like you are on a roll with the grasses...I have had some fun this year combining (only a couple of) grasses with some perennials--I love black mondo grass around hostas, for instance...and the new(ish) zebra/tiger/variegated grasses are fun to put next to simply colored daylilies, cannas and others...

I don't have much of this sort of thing in my garden, but wish I had more...I think grasses must be fairly easy maintenance and a very modern and stylish addition to the mixed border...a new twist to the 'same old, same old'....and the birds and butterflies like them.

I can't think of the landscape designers' names who popularized the grasses in the U.S.--his name is something like Van Sweden from Grand Rapids (now in D.C.) comes to mind...does anyone know?

Would love to see more grasses combined with perennials and other plants...

Happy gardening...t.

Fruitport, MI(Zone 5a)