Planting Hollyhock seeds

Loganville, GA(Zone 8a)

I just received some hollyhock seeds, I'm in zone 8 is it too late to plant these outside? Do they bloom in fall? Thanks I am new to seed growing.

Aurora, TX(Zone 8a)

Good question! I have some seeds also.....will watch this thread...

Mansfield, TX(Zone 8a)

according to Eileen Powell;s book "From Seed to Bloom", there are two types of hollyhocks: althaea and malva. Both of them have indicators for annual and perennial, and both say start indoors 6 to 8 weeks early in spring, or outdoors: Althaea in July, and Malva in early autumn. Althaea germinates in 10 to 14 days, Malva in 5 to 21. Hope that helps.

Aurora, TX(Zone 8a)

Ah, bummer.........looks like I'll hold these seeds 'til spring! The ones I already germinated aren't BLOOMING! Is it too early? I have HUGE big plants, but no buds...............

Loganville, GA(Zone 8a)

MKjones - you have blooms from seeds? Please give me you secret! I can't seem to get mine past the sprout stage. I think Hollyhocks bloom late summer to fall. Some germinated by seed won't bloom the first year...some will.

Loganville, GA(Zone 8a)

I need a mentor in seed growing!

Taylor Creek, FL(Zone 10a)

Hollyhocks are Biennials that have to be in their second year to give you blossoms. They sometimes do bloom the first year and often self seed. Then you have them year in and year out. They are the backrow tall plants. I got Hollyhock 'Chater's Double Appleblossom Pink' (Alcea rosea) off of the half price rack at L's with buds on it.
Well when those big fluffy flowers got weighed down with rain, they broke over. The buds still opened, so I'm leaving them alone until that's over. Then I'll let the seeds reseed naturally there.
In your zone I would plant them as soon and let them get established. They may bloom next summer if you do.
Good luck
sidney

Joseph, OR(Zone 5a)

Sugarweed,