Moving Brugs In Florida

Lakeland, FL

Okay gardening gurus-- Can you transplant brugs any time in fla.? Or is there a certain time? to move? Cork

Lakeland, FL

okay,change the subject. Here is a pic of my bop. It has a lot more blooms coming, two years old. Cork

Thumbnail by corky59
Lake City, FL(Zone 8b)

Corky - I'm not an expert on brugs, but have moved them at different times of the year with success. How big is the one you are planning to move? Mine were not that large and hadn't been in ground for long. I just had to water heavily - in this heat I would probably wait till cooler weather. If you are worried - you could always take cuttings.

Your bop looks great - I'm still waiting for mine to bloom.

Lakeland, FL

Well about 2 ft. tall-- lost all it's leaves, came back putting out nice healthy leaves but not in a happy place? So i guess I will leave it there until cooler and move over by other brugs. I guess it is lonely haha. Thanks, Cork

Archer/Bronson, FL(Zone 8b)

Cork,

I left your question alone waiting for someone with more experience to come look.

Juja's comments jarred my memory. Last year about July, I planted my 2 brugs in the ground at the old house. Because I had to move, by September, just after hurricane Francis, I dug them both up, brought them over here and put them in the ground again. That would be the day after Labor Day.

I watered them every day for the first two weeks and they were just fine.

May I suggest that when you dig them up, put them in pots and move them around until you find the spot they like the best. Then plant them again. Just keep them well watered.

Molly
:^)))

Crestview, FL(Zone 7b)

corky.. where you live in florida you can move it at any time... here in the frigid north we are limited by our freeze backs..

Titusville, FL(Zone 9a)