Mantis compost-twin , Pro or con? Ready to buy one!

(Taylor) Plano, TX(Zone 8a)

Hubby said I could finally buy a mantis compost twin. I have been wanting one for ages! They are expensive, but I think they'd be well worth it, as I compost A LOT! I've been vericomposting for several years, but hubby wants the worms OUT! lol....
He says they no longer are allowed to live indoors, lol...

So! The worms will get a new home in the garden, and ready to purchase the mantis. I've heard MANY nice things about the mantis compost twin, but the one negative concerns me.

I've heard they are hard to turn...I cannot ask hubby to turn it every few days. Is it really that hard? Too much for a woman to turn?

I'd appreciate ANY input, as I am really wanting to buy one, before hubby changes his mind, or before he sees how much it really costs, lol...!
-T

Bushland, TX(Zone 6a)

I have one and love it,I think every relative has used it as well.
Great for getting in small tight places,starts easy,cleans easy,runs great,I've had mine about 7 yrs now.
But if you want to make composting easier for you,get a shredder,and shred everything into small pieces,before you put it into the compost pile,makes tilling a lot easier.

Conroe, TX(Zone 9a)

I think you have the tiller mixed up with the twin composter, Tropicman!
:-)

Tropicman-
Thank you for your input! I would like one of those, too! lol...

Maggiemoo-yes, you are right. I am referring to the composter. I actually went ahead and ordered one earlier today, so hope there aren't any strong objections, because it would be a little late, lol...(but they have a one year money back guarantee, so not at all worried).

I really think I'll love it. I compost EVERYTHING and way outgrew the worm bins years ago...
-T

Thumbnail by seedpicker_TX
Conroe, TX(Zone 9a)