'Lily Collection' of bulbs? Should I buy?

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Hi everybody--

I am relatively new to lilies (and to gardening) but I saw this collection of 'oriental' lilies and liked them ,

http://www.johnscheepers.com/catview.cgi?_fn=Item&_recordnum=6516&_category=Website%20Specials

but I'm not sure if these are appropriate for zone 6 semi-sun garden with mediocre drainage.

I would like to plant them among ferns and I don't want them to get too tall...Does anyone know if there is a 'good' success rate on this kind of lily? Are they as pretty as the picture? Or can you recommend a similar but better cultivar to try? Would the 'Orientpet' be a better choice?

I planted 20 'Mona Lisa' last fall and only eight came up. (I wonder if the moles like them or perhaps they rotted?)

Any thoughts? Thank you and 'happy gardening'. t.

Actually, here's the lily that came up...I think it's probably a 'stargazer', no? Also planted martagons but they are 'no shows'....

Thumbnail by tabasco
Lincoln, NE(Zone 5b)

Your zone would be just fine for any lilies you care to plant. I don't have experience with Martagons, but I understand they do tend to 'sulk'. Don't give up yet!

For the areas that you want shorter lilies, Mona Lisa is a good choice, as are pixie lilies and many Asiatics, too. And you can extend you lily season further with Trumpets.

The Lily Garden is a great place to start for ideas. http://www.thelilygarden.com/index.html They have their lilies broken down in to many groups ~ by color, type, seasons, etc..

Waxhaw (Charlotte), NC(Zone 7b)

You need to handle drainage. Your zone is fine, but drainage must be good. Can be done by mixing compost into the soil.

If you have partial shade (which I suspect since you grow ferns) try the pixie lilies. they grow taller in shade, but are still able to stand on their own.

Orienpets would be very good choice for you in your area. they have large flowers.

Excelsior, MN(Zone 4a)