have astrantia seeds and questions!

Santa Barbara County, CA(Zone 9a)

I planted my first astrantia ('Hadspen Blood') this past spring, and I just cut two (dried) flower stalks off. They were packed with seeds. I'm a novice with growing all but the easiest annual seeds, so I'm not particularly interested in trying to grow the astrantia seeds if they are finicky. But if they're easy, I'm willing to give it a try. I have three main questions: (1) are they easy to grow? and, if so, (2) how do I sow them, and (3) when is the best time to sow them? I've separated out the seeds (my first time doing this!) and placed them into envelopes. What next?

Thanks for your advice. I love this little astrantia and would love to grow more of them.

Seed sowing and finiky can be pretty subjective, I've sown some of the reputedly easiest seeds and had poor to no results and sown some of the tough types that have germinated like cress for me. Haspen Blood may not come true from seed but you should get some interesting seedlings.

Astrantia isn't supposed to be terribly difficult but they much prefer to be sown fresh and the seeds sometimes lose viability after a year, they are also slow to germinate so don't expect quick results. In the UK we usually sow them May-July or September-November when they are still fresh and some will flower next year from this sowing, it might be slightly different timing for your climate.

Sow in moist compost on the surface. Keep at room temperature (around 60F) for a couple of weeks and then pop them in the fridge (covered with a clear bag) for about 4 to 6 weeks. Bring them back to room temperature for another couple of weeks and they should germinate. You can go through the fridge to room temperature cycle again if they don't.