Blue Fescue - Red Yucca - Russian Sage Rooting

Clovis, NM(Zone 7a)

I started Blue Fescue 'Elijah Blue' from seeds a little over a week ago. They have all sprouted very well and are now around an inch tall. This is my first attempt at starting anything from seed. My question is when do they need to be transplanted? Also should I group seedlings together when they are transplanted?

I also planted some seeds from red yucca earlier this week. How long does it take for these seeds to germinate? Also do they require any type of stratification?

My last question is about rooting cuttings. I will eventually try tree, shrubs, and other plants but right now I am going to try my luck at some Russian Sage cuttings. I'm just not sure what to start them in? Should I start them in flats(if so, what count?) or should I start them in 2.5" or 4" pots? Also what is a good rooting hormone?

Sorry for asking so many questions, but i'm just anxious to get started!
THANKS!!

Arroyo Grande, CA

Do not rush into transplanting things. Let them get decent roots on them. Keep the domes on after transplanting and make sure things are damp through the process. Did you seed into filter paper or trays? If into trays, you can wait a long time before they actually have to be moved up. If on filter paper, it seems to work better if they have both a root and and leaves

Clovis, NM(Zone 7a)

Good deal. I seeded them in just a 4" pot. I haven't bought any flats for growing the seeds yet. What would be a good size flat for starting seeds?

I hate to post again so soon but i'm wanting to make an order at Charleys Greenhouse and just wasn't sure what size of flat and count I should buy? This will be for cuttings.

Thanks

This message was edited Jul 5, 2005 1:52 PM

Clovis, NM(Zone 7a)