Hamelia Patens - Firebush

Pinellas Park, FL(Zone 9b)

Has anyone propagated this and how was it done. I would like to make enough extras for a hedge along one fenceline.
Jan...

Fort Lauderdale, FL(Zone 10b)

I'll give it a shot. Remember, I am not a professional gardener. I do it by the seat of my shorts. My terminology may not be correct. First, cuttings are much better than seeds. They will give you a stronger plant that will more closely resemble the mother plant and will do it much faster. It will take your plants less time to become mature plants.
To successfully make cuttings I use terrariums.
To make terrariums I use 2 liter clear soda bottles & 4" plastic pots. Here's how.
First, cut off the soda bottle lable. Then cut around the neck of the bottle just before or above where the curve ends. Using good sisors is best for this. If you cut too close to the straight part of the bottle, it won't fit into the 4" pot. About 1/4 to 3/8 inch above the straight part is just about right.
Cut a piece of firebush about 6 to 8 inches long, just below the last leaves of the cutting you make. Pull off the last leaves above the cutting bottom. I use a planting hormone, but many recommend not using one. I dip my cutting into the planting hormone (rootone), shake off the excess then plant in a hole I have made with a nail or pencil, Then I push the dirt into the cutting. Doing this prevents the dirt from wiping off the rooting hormone. Then I place the cut bottle up side down into the 4" pot and it's done.
A couple of different techniques I use, if it's a green stalk cutting, I use a potting soil medium by itself and put a pot liner under the 4" pot. I keep the liner filled with water so the planting medium remains moist.