Organic fertilizering

Santa Barbara, CA

On my farm I rely a lot on well-made compost as the source of soil fertility and available nutrients for my crops. But there are times that a crop might need a boost, or other times when cold soils limit available nutrients. As an organic landscaper, I often cannot apply as much compost as often as I think the soils need.

So I am always on the lookout for acceptable soluable sources of fertilizers. Ain't no good to put down greensand to correct a current inadequacy of Potassium -- greensand releases so slowly. So I reach to potassium sulphate (a much more soluable mined mineral).

So, let's hear from you old-time gardeners and the newer gardeners that have been experimenting.

LET's chat about organic fertilizers.

Marsh

Panama, NY(Zone 5a)

Marsh, all of my organic fertilizer comes from the barn yard and brings some interesting weed seeds with it. I've been trying some covered compost piles lately, but it's just too easy to get a loader scoop full of that lovely rich stuff and spread it around. I'm especially fond of the piles that develope where the heifer hay bale leavings, well supplied with manure, disintegrate for a year or two.

New Paris, OH

I like using Maxi-crop, a soluable kelp folier feed. I also like compost tea.

For potassium/Magnesium we rely on Sul-po-mag. A fairly quick release.

We also use cover cropping for fertility. Rye, Buckwheat, vetch are all used on our farm.

Finally I can't say enough about running livestock on fallowed fields. We have chickens and they do a great job of weeding and feeding. Chicken poop adds lots of calcium and Nitrogen.

Lyndeborough, NH

Hey Marsh,

Coast of Maine has some sea blend, 3-2-2.

Want some wood ash from the wood stove?
Sugar maple or Northen Spy apple..
I don't know if I could ship it to CA.

At the local Agway, They had a 0-0-19 IIRC

Byron

Troy, VA(Zone 7a)