Is it too late to plant raspberries/blkberries in Dallas TX?

The Colony, TX(Zone 8a)

Hi out there - I'm new to Dave's Garden and I am sooooo excited I found this site. It's been very educational.

This is my first garden and although I think I was a little overzealous in my expectations and planning for this year, things are coming along nicely. If you look at the attached image, you'll see that I have planned to put raspberries and blackberries on the left side of the garden. However, because of time restraints I haven't had time to put in the berries yet. Should I wait until next year and just amend the soil and let it sit or should I go ahead and plant them now?

Is it ok to plant them next to a fence or do they need to have full space around them? Can I plant the two different types of berries next to each other or are there issues with this?

Any info would be much appreciated. :)

Thumbnail by stephpaige
La Grange, TX(Zone 8b)

Fruiting trees and shrubs need maximum sunlight to produce fruit. Blackberries and raspberries can get very large and heavy, damaging your fence. What's usually recommended for growing raspberries and blackberries is a wire fence: Two heavy posts buried in the ground and angled away from each other with 2-4 stands of wire strung between the posts. The free standing fence allows access from either side making harvesting and pruning easier.

Raspberries are more susceptible to some diseases and should have plenty of air circulation. There is also a question of whether they should be planted near each other (disease and pest problems) although some people have been successful in growing them together. In a small fruit and vegetable garden, you may want to look for thornless varieties. Contact your local extension agent and find out what varieties are best for your area. The following link gives some general information on both.