Questions about mulching w/ straw

Shenandoah Valley, VA(Zone 6b)

This is my first time mulching with straw and, though I've read through all the threads I could find on the subject, I've still got a couple of questions. First, I know that pepper/melon/cuke/squash beds benefit from warming with newspaper or black plastic. And that straw mulch can cool a bed down. Can I mulch them with straw, wet 'em down, and THEN cover with black plastic a few weeks before planting? Has anyone done this? It seems like it would be a good idea, but if anyone's got info to the contrary, I'd love to have it.

Secondly, if I'm, say, planting a few rows of carrots or radishes, is it possible to cover the bed with mulch and then pull it gently away when the seedlings emerge? I've had some trouble with these raised beds drying out quickly and hampering germination.

Thanks for any advice!

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

If you wet down your straw and cover with black plastic for a few weeks, you'll have compost when you pull it back! Or, at least a stinky, rotty mess.

I put down newspaper and cover with straw. This keeps the straw on top where it can stay much drier.

If your straw gets wet and stays wet...heat will build up in it just like a compost pile..and it will mold and rot.

Winchester, VA(Zone 6b)

I like straw as a mulch but sometimes the stuff I get can have some hay seed in it and so I have to set the bales to the side
and see if they germinate. Don't want that in the garden.

Thankee...

Unfortunately, my straw is full of seeds. Oats, looks like, and MAN do they put down a root. They're easy to spot, and since the garden's new, I'm half grateful for the soil loosening they do before I pull or snip em. All right, that's just me trying to look on the bright side. sigh...

Fritch, TX(Zone 6b)