Dry Soil....HELP!

Joseph, OR(Zone 5a)

I have about 200 3.5" pots here at home. Now, keep in mind that I am new to this, so don't laugh :)

They are full of just about everything, from alyssum, pansies, salpiglossis, calliopsis, everything, most tint little seedlings, with the first set or two of true leaves. Anyway, I've been bottom watering, and everything has been OK, I thought, but then I noticed no growth. So, I checked the soil, and the top 2" is dry as a bone, and water just pours right through it! I know this is the reason for my stunted growth. What can I do to re-mositen the soil???? I tried submerging, very carefully, NO good at all. I tried letting the pots sit in water all day, didn't soak up a 1/4". Top watering, just falls through. I lost six Dahlias grown from seed today because of this. I used Miricle Grow Potting Soil mixed with some other brand.

Please tell me I'm not doomed. This is really worrying me, I spent SO much on all of this.

Thank you,
J

Chicago, IL(Zone 5b)

How big are the seedlings? Did you start the plants in these pots or are they transplants? Perhaps they haven't developed a sufficient amount of roots yet needed to absorb the water in a 3.5" pot.

Post a picture if you can.

Toni

Joseph, OR(Zone 5a)

The digi is out of batteries, sorry. The seedlings are transplants that were started in 4cell packs, some in 6cell packs. They were transplanted to the 3.5" pots with 1-2 sets of true leaves. The seedlings right now have anywheres from 1-5 sets of true leaves. I have several flats of these. Some are bigger, the Dahlias were 6-7" tall already. I just neglected the top of the soil and was bottom watering like I read to do. The tops are now dust. So much dust, that it won't even hold things like the dahlias and tomatoes in place. They just flop over, and they have 5 sets of leaves. I just filled each flat with about 2" of tepid water, misted the tops of the pots, enclosed the back in their domes, and set them back under lights.

J