Trying Again - What is it?

L.A. (Canoga Park), CA(Zone 10a)

I asked about this iris in the past and got a couple definite maybes as to what the name is. I have a better camera now and there are more DGers now, so I'll try again. I won't bias anyone by saying just yet what the definite maybes were. We'll start with a clean slate.

Here it is. I call it the burgundy iris.

Thumbnail by Kelli
Willamette Valley, OR(Zone 8a)

Well I'm no expert, but here are my ideas:

Col. Candelot
Dauntless
Don Juan

You can find them here:

http://community.webshots.com/album/119364712BMqeMl

:-)

Stanford, CA(Zone 9b)

Great detective work. Boy are the last two close. Dauntless has a longer beard than Don Juan - And 'The Burgundy Iris' has longer beards too. Col. Candelot seems narrower. It seems that the best indication would be the beards since flower substance and color can depend so much on different conditions. That big fuzzy yellow beard can't be missed. By the way Kelli, that's a great photo.

If it is Dauntless, It was introduced in 1929 by Connell and it won the Dykes medal!!! in 1929.

Thanks for trying to find out what it might be Kelli. This is such a pretty iris.

I just bought a couple of this Arilbred Enegizer. I've never had an Arilbred before. Should be fun.

http://community.webshots.com/photo/119353760/119359657uMNBnJ.

If you want to order from them, you have to get their catalog and get the prices there. This one is going for $4.00 - not that you need anymore :-).

Arden (Asheville), NC(Zone 7a)

Bitone and bicolor blends of this vintage are legion. Positive identification may be very difficult, Kelli.

You're looking in the right places--Superstition's photo website and the HIPS site both have a lot of the better known--and some not so well known--varieties from the period of the early tetraploid explosion.