jiffy-7 pellets and mold

Coeur D Alene, ID(Zone 5a)

I just started some tomatoes in the jiffy-7 pellets. It's my first time using them, but I covered them with plastic and have been airing them out for an hour or two a day, and this morning (3 days later), there is white, fluffy mold absolutely covering the pellets. My flats next to these are fine. I just sprayed with some strong hydrogen peroxide solution, but I'm wondering if this has happened to anyone else, and if so, are they still salvageable? It looks like one of the tomatoes might be germinating, and I'd hate to throw good seeds away!
Thanks,
Mara

Taylor Creek, FL(Zone 10a)

You did the right thing, you dont have them too wet do you?
More help will be by, Sidney

I'm agreeing with Sidney. Sounds like too much water and warmth. Mine always have a tendancy to stay soggy, so I leave the plastic cover propped up until germination, then just take it off. If the seeds are of a particularly easy variety I don't cover at all. Your seeds will probably be fine because you caught the problem early. Good luck!

Pickens, SC(Zone 7a)

Mara, I assume you have them in one of those plastic trays with a clear top. It may not matter but if you have plastic wrap directly on them no air could flow, I would think. Good Luck

I was using plastic wrap draped loosely over the top. I guess I'll take it off and just mist if they get dry...I do have them over heat..
Thanks,
Mara

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

When you repot...and with tomatoes, you'll have to. Jiffy Pellets will not work for tomatoes till transplant.

Be sure to cut the netting off the outside of the pellets. It will not break down, contrary to advertised statements. It will choke your tomato roots and you'll get stunted plants.