Tacca or Bat Plant

Boulder Creek, CA(Zone 9a)

Any suggestions on best way to germinate these seeds? I've heard they are difficult. Need some expert advice.

Thanks

Steve

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

Seed germination can take from one to nine months, from some reports. Here is an outline from one grower: http://tinyurl.com/5swmc - good luck! I'd love to have one of those gorgeous plants, but I'm not confident I could keep it happy.

Yuska-

Great Link. Thanks. I'm a newbie. But I can follow directions, IF I remmeber to do the daily grind of misting, etc. If that fails, I can always BUY a PLANT!

Steve

San Antonio, TX(Zone 8b)

I'm curious, Steve. Where did you find seeds? And are you attempting to grow both the black and white versions? Yuska

Just the Black version. From: http://gardensgreen.com/. But the seeds have yet to arrive. I ordered 2/8 and when it did not arrive I emailed them. They said it should be here today. We'll see.

Palmyra, IL(Zone 5b)

Thanks I just received some in a trade.Now to wait 1-9 month.boohoo
lol.Jody

Quoting:
boohoo

PSB!!!

Pinellas Park, FL(Zone 9b)

I'm glad to see that the spinach appearance on new leaves is normal.
I was afraid there was a problem with my 2 plants. These plants are putting out their second round of new leaves and they do appear to straighten out as they get older. If you're not paranoid before getting Taccas you will be after.
I drowned my first one but the wonderful person I traded with had enough faith to offer me another baby to try. It turns out there were actually 2 babies together so I separated them and potted them separately. I made sure the crowns were over the soil level so they wouldn't rot. I have them in a north exposure window and even though they say to keep them evenly moist, I have been keeping them on the dryer side. I will transplant 1 outdoors in the spring and keep one indoors as a backup. I also just received some seeds so I will be trying those as well.
Jan...

New York, NY