How do you feel about house sparrows and starlings?

St. Louis, MO(Zone 5b)

I am brand new to birding and gardening, this year is my first time putting out a bird feeder and I'm trying to make my first garden one that will attract birds.

As a result of doing alot of reading here and elsewhere, I've discovered that house sparrows and European starlings are introduced species that some say are harmful to indigneous species like bluebirds and purple martins.

I want to attract songbirds to our yard, and so far have seen birds I never knew we had like chickadees, purple finches, titmice and juncos. The starlings and sparrows seem to be agressive and chase off other birds. I have gotten safflower and sunflower hearts and thistle because they are supposed to be favored by songbirds and feeders the big birds can't use, even though I put out suet and stuff on the ground too. Right now I am feeding them all.

In the past I have not had an issue with any bird but now I am concerned about the native species. Some even advocate killing male house sparrows but I can't see myself doing that, I even pick up spiders and put then out rather than kill them unless I have to. (waterbugs, mosquitos and slugs die without mercy, however).

I am very interested to see what people here think about all this sparrow vs. bluebird business. I would like to see a bluebird as opposed to the thousands of sparrows I have seen in my life however.

Please remember I am not advocating anything I am a newbie still learning, and a city girl at that, much more familiar with concrete than wildlife ;-) but trying to learn!

Thanks for listening/reading,

Maureen

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Maureen--I'm afraid we have all researched and discussed the HOSP/Starling issue and have not been able to come up with anything more than what you have mentioned and tried already--here's what's been mentioned before and depending on your situation some of these ideas might work for you....