Color of blue forget-me-not flowers has mutated. Opinions?

San Jose, CA

I wasn't sure where to post this question, but I've been growing blue Forget-Me-Nots for the past nine years. They have always reseeded themselves and have always been blue. This morning, I noticed that one clump of forget-me-nots was blooming in a mix of blue and pink flowers. I had never seen this happen before.

Has anyone experienced this? If I harvest seeds from this plant later on, is there a chance that this mutation would be passed on? It's kind of a pretty effect with the pink blossoms mixed in.

Opinions? If I can get a picture tomorrow, I will post it.

Myosotis is in the Boraginaceae family and the blue flowers of this family often turn pink or white as they age and in some species it's vice versa on the colours. the little yellow or white 'eye' changes colour too.

Woodland Park, CO(Zone 4b)

Some blue flowered plants do throw white and/or pink flowered sports.

San Jose, CA

It could be age-related, since the pink flowers look somewhat older. It's interesting that it's only happening on one clump. I'll have to look around to see if any other plants are showing this effect.

Hermosa Beach, CA

Mutations happen naturally in the wild (maybe some recessive gene becoming dominant, maybe the climat changes)...how do you think carrots turned from white to orange? :)

I bought forget-me-nots last summer and could only get the pink ones. My garden centre has both varieties normally. It'll be interesting to see what comes up in the spring, whether pink or blue.

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)

Lilystorm, I agree with Baa. The most likely explanation is that the spent flowers are turning pink. This happens quite often with mine.

Weezi, I planted my FMNs in early June, and the flowers were only pink, never blue, from start to finish. Maybe I got some kind of hybrid? Its all still under lots of snow right now, will see what comes up in the spring.

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)