novice gardener giving in to the BEAUTY of bearded irises

Corte Madera, CA

hello, everyone. i'm a novice gardener and joined dg last month. i've always admired IRISES, and it's such a delight to see you post your iris pictures here.

i bought some rhizomes at home depot today, and i am so excited to plant and grow them.

do they do well in pots?

thanks for your time.

Willamette Valley, OR(Zone 8a)

Welcome to DG Moonglow! I don't have any experience with them in pots, but I thought I'd say "Howdy!"

Mendy

Lenexa, KS(Zone 6a)

Welcome, Moonglow!!! You're going to find new passions each week here on DG! I'm not familiar with growing iris in pots, but then again I'm always amazed at what you West Coast folks can grow year-round. One of the warmer climate iris fanciers may have some good input on this. Also, we have recently been blessed with a new iris expert here on DG....Neil. He'll likely be along in the next day or two and have some thoughts on your question.

Just a tip to help you keep your sanity here......make a point to drop in the Dave's Garden Forum every so often as you'll see posts there about new features, how to use features and many will deal with questions you probably will have. That forum is also the best place to go for help with the site. Of course, you can always post just about any place here on DG and get immediate help or direction.

Hope to be seeing you around a lot in The Garden.
Brenda

Norwood, MO(Zone 6a)

Welcome to DG, Moonglow! You will love it here. Everyone is very nice and helpful. If you have questions or need help getting around DG, just ask.