Onions

Simpsonville, SC(Zone 7b)

I am new to DG (my first day at posting) and am just learning my way around. I posted this in another forum as a reply to another message and then found this forum so I will try it here.

I have never grown onions from seed and would like to know when to start them for spring (green) onions, and what are some good types.
Thanks George

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)

I start mine in February if I can. It takes quite a while from seed to get them large enough to eat as green onions. Even then, they are pretty small until they have been in the garden for a while. I start mine in the greenhouse. I've had good luck with Kelsy Sweet Giant. Last year I tried another sweet onion and my luck was horrible. I think my greenhouse may have been too warm for them. As my baby onions got taller, I would cut them back to about 5 or 6 inches. Otherwise they would all get tangled up. I hope you have good luck with them.

Conway, SC(Zone 8a)

I usually plant from sets in the fall, but seeds in the spring. If you plant in the fall, it will generally get to cold for them to get a good start. It takes a while, especially for seeds. Most onions tend to bolt when it get to hot. some I know plant seeds in late August for pulling in the spring. If you time it just right August is very warm so they get off to a good start. then the cool weather keeps them from bolting. Hopes this helps. (conway sc)

Atascadero, CA(Zone 8a)