Age Old Problem: Fungus Gnats

Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

I know this has been discussed to death but I'm just hearing the same things which I've tried and haven't worked.

My newest product is Garden Alive's Knock out gnats. I've been using it for over three months now with every watering and it seemed to be working! But all of a sudden, the gnats are back with a vengence!

Any new ideas? What is a tried and proven method that works for you?

Taylor Creek, FL(Zone 10a)

Aughhh this has been a terrible year for those pesty boogers. Let me know if you get a solution

Westbrook, ME(Zone 5a)

I've had the same thing happen with the BT liquids for gnats. I almost wonder if the gnats build up a resistance to it. It's prolly more likely that as I near the bottom of my bottle... I use less & less when watering. The stuff is on the expensive side and I try to get as much mileage from a bottle as can ;o)

I'm trying beneficial nematodes this year that supposedly feast on the gnat larvae in the soil. I just applied it to my pots a couple of days ago. I am seeing a decrease in the pesky little buggers already. It's still to be seen how it works in the long run...

http://www.planetnatural.com/fungusgnat_control.html

Brookeville, MD(Zone 7a)

But Knock out gnats is the beneficial nematodes... isn't it?

I read that there are two kinds, one for in soil and one for soil surface or one for gnats and one for larger insects. I don't remember which was which, maybe I should just try the cheaper one people use for lawns.

I'm also looking for Diatomaceous Earth, it's fossilized remains of animals that turned into little peices of glass. It's supossed to scratch the skin of the insects and they dry out and die. Hopefully it'll work. I'll post my results,

Westbrook, ME(Zone 5a)