Advise on rooting these Passiflora cuttings

Clinton, CT(Zone 6b)

Hello -

A dear woman and fellow DG member sent me these beautiful Passiflora cuttings. I have never tried to root these before. Can anyone give me advise on how best to go about this?

Diane

Thumbnail by KRNYSGIRL
Gordonville, TX(Zone 7b)

I'd like to know as well. :-)

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)

Diane, you might try asking this over on the Vines and Climbers forum. Hope someone can help you out.

Ventura, United States(Zone 10b)

Hi Diane, we've had a couple long -- and I mean long -- threads about rooting passifloras earlier this year. Here's what I learned:

1. Passiflora cuttings root best in the spring when they are in growth mode;

2. Some types are easier to root than others;

3. Some types will root in jars of water; some will rot in jars of water;

3. Humidity is essential to the rooting process so a plastic bag or humidity dome should be used to keep the leaves green;

4. Oasis cubes on a tray of moist pebbles with a humidity dome worked best for me; and

5. A good rooting hormone helps quite a bit.

This is how I rooted mine in the picture below. I put this tray of cuttings in a large zippered plastic bag like the kind you get when you buy a blanket or a comforter.

I hope this helps!

Thumbnail by Clare_CA

Diane, I would mist your leaves right away and put a large clear plastic bag over the cuttings and the jar of water and seal them in. The humidity will help perk up those droopy leaves. You can let air in from time to time, but the humidity is needed for the rooting process. Also, cut off all lower leaves and threads and keep only the top two leaves on each cutting. Eventually, the larger leaves will drop, but you want them to stay on for as long as possible.

Clinton, CT(Zone 6b)

Oh, thank you so much for the advise Clare_CA -- I will get mine into a "blanket bag" when I get home.

Diane