Companion plants for iris?

I've been pouring on the corn glutten meal for a few years to reduce weeds in my iris beds. This does help and it additionally fixes nitrogen into the soil. I think it is time to begin considering companion plants for iris to cut down the weeds. I also get tired looking at the spent leaves of iris that are not rebloomers. I don't want to trim them back as the plants do need to draw upon that stored up energy but they really don't look the greatest right about now and haven't for quite a while. Does anyone have any suggestions of companion perennial plants?

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

i have some mixed with columbine-they look nice together

Decatur, GA(Zone 7a)

I have the same question. I find that most plants get too large and then shade the rhizomes, thus rotting them. I think columbine would be good, but mine seem to die back after a year or so. How do you keep yours going, Dori?

Yup, my columbine died back too. They do better in partial to bright shade but my iris are in full sun. I companion planted my columbine with Giant Solomon's Seal and that seems to be working but they are in shade. I have a particular fondness for Columbine. I'd love to be able to plant some in by the iris.

Sand Springs, OK(Zone 7a)

the sages are good if kept in small grouping .i use salvia greggi and keep it cut back which helps it bloom but both need little fertilizer and full sun low water.

Ya know, Salvia azurea would be a good choice for me. Thanks for mentioning Salvias.

Cape Cod, MA(Zone 7a)

I just planted a new iris bed and I noticed the weeds are terrible! I will try the corn gluten meal. I used peonies, oriental poppies (the foliage dies back in the summer) and low growing perennial geraniums. At this time of year I cut back the leaves into 6-7" fans, to neaten them up but also leave them some remaining foliage.

Norwalk, CT(Zone 5b)