Moving to the Glades? I wear "Cutter" for perfume!

Everglades, FL(Zone 10a)

Hi Folks,
I have recently joined this site and am tickled to death at how wonderfully helpful everyone is. My husband and I bought a 38 acre junkyard in the middle of the Everglades. It was the only way we could afford our dream.

A good part of the car parts are gone but it will be years before we have that area pristine.
We want to retire so bad! That is...my husband does. I am a freelance web designer so I can work as long as my brain and fingers function. My husband has very bad vision and other health problems, not to mention an extremely stressful job. We want to basically come up with a plan to have our new property (which we lovingly call the farm) pay for itself.

So far we do weekends out there. It's hot and buggy but we sweat our heinies off trying to make progress of our dream. Our dream is an exotic fruit grove and tilapia ponds, fishing worm beds and of course me whacking away on the keyboard. My husband's personal desire is a fruit stand on the main highway.

For about 6 or 7 years, we have been growing exotic fruit seedlings at a double-lotted townhouse in Fort Lauderdale, with this other property only being a dream.

We have both had cancer and my recent treatment devastated us financially so we were extra excited to find this property with owner financing!!! It wiped out Mike's 401K but we don't care. We both just hit the 50's and can still work hard to achieve our dreams. By the time we can retire (5-10 years?) hopefully the fruit trees will be our bumper income.