Morning Glory seeds - when are they ripe?

Melvindale, MI(Zone 5a)

This is my first year growing morning glories and I would like to save some seed. What color is the seed when it is ready. I opened up a seed pod and seeds were white. Is that the color they should be? The pod was brown. Thanks. Cindy

Never mind everyone, got my answer from another post on this site. Thanks.

This message was edited Sep 22, 2004 6:27 PM

Brooksville, FL(Zone 9a)

No, most morning glory seeds should be black. There are exceptions - moonflowers are white or tan, for example. You should wait for the seed pod to be brown AND the stem leading to it will be brown or yellow (not green). The 'flanges' at the top of the seed pod should be brown and should be sticking out away from the pod not still curled up around it. The pod should crush EASILY in your fingers - if it doesn't , leave it - the seeds are not ready yet. The seeds should be black.

Good luck!

Onalee

Brooksville, FL(Zone 9a)

I don't have any pics of morning glory seeds ready to pick, but here is a moonvine pod that is ready . . .
Note the brown stem, the brown 'flanges' that are sticking out, the point on the end of the pod is brown and it will crunch very easily between your fingers. . .

This message was edited Oct 3, 2004 8:53 PM

Thumbnail by onalee
Melvindale, MI(Zone 5a)

Thanks onalee, I have moonflower also and this will help me determine when they are ripe. I did harvest some morning glory where the pod is as you described and I am getting both black seeds and a caramel colored seed. I wonder if that is the seed of the lighter colored ones. They are a mix of blue, fuschia, light pink and an almost white flower.

Cindy

Melvindale, MI(Zone 5a)

Hey onalee, I took a pic of the two colors of seeds. The light brown ones were definitely in ripe pods as the stem was all withered and pods opened easily. Notice they are a slight bit larger than the black seeds.

Cindy

Thumbnail by hemlady
Brooksville, FL(Zone 9a)