gerianaceae from seed? Winter sowing?

Cincinnati (Anderson, OH(Zone 6a)

Hi!---Would like to know from all the g. experts if anyone's had success growing g. from seed. If so, which ones? I am especially interested in 'roxanne', 'purple pillow', maybe 'brookside'--or are these best done from cuttings or division? Thought maybe 'winter sowing' would be a possibility...otherwise, I should probably buy some plants now and get them in....any advice would be appreciated. Thanks. t.

This message was edited Sep 13, 2004 10:27 AM

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)

Tobasco, I am no geranium expert, but I have grown them from seed. As with most plants, cultivars may not come true from seed, however. Maybe one of our geranium experts can tell you which ones to try. Most of the geraniums I started from seed were up to size and blooming the second year....some in the first year. I start my seeds quite early indoors. Seeds will not all germinate at once, so be patient. I should think winter sowing would do well.

Weymouth, Dorset, United Kingdom(Zone 9a)

I'm no geranium expert either, but I tend to sow most of my perrenials (hardy geraniums included) about now.I've been sowing seeds from about middle August, and will continue to do so until about October. These are mostly kept in an upright cold-frame over winter, and pricked out in Spring. Up till now this has worked well for me.

In fact, I have amongst those I've sown so far, a tray of G. Purple Haze seedlings. I've also just pricked out some G madarense 'guernsey white'.

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)