Help me choose a shrub for wildlife...

Flower Mound, TX(Zone 7b)

I am in zone 7 in Texas and want a shrub that is beneficial to wildlife within a height range of 6 feet (or more), and 5 feet (or more) wide if it can be pruned to control...

My area is dappled morning shade/afternoon sun.

Two that I'm considering are arrowood viburnum and dwarf beautyberry....

Am I over-looking the ideal shrub and don't know it? I'm a newbie to gardening so I need some advice on this!

Bradford, PA(Zone 5a)

The two you name are good. I just ordered a beautyberry for a shrub bank I'm making. I have a viburnum (even the county agent couldn't say what kind). It was labelled "snowball". It has berries the birds seem to love. It's several years old and about 4x3' . You might want to look at "red barberry",too. Here is a site that might help:

http://www.musserforests.com/browse.asp?m=2

Frankfort, KY

I am thinking of plant a flowering Quince, but have no experience with said shrub. (I only plant things that are nature friendly.)

Scott County, KY(Zone 5b)

Welcome, kyjoy! How'd you manage to dredge up such an old thread?

Flowering quince (Chaenomeles speciosa) is a nice plant, but not particularly nature friendly insofar in that it isn't native here in KY and doesn't contribute much to natural/native systems. It is a perfectly nice plant to look at while in bloom.

What are you looking to promote (as in, nature friendly)? Insects? Birds? Other fauna? With that info provided, I could offer some suggestions for additional plants. Also, what kinds of things are you interested in looking at? I will launch into my list, given some coaching by you.

Atmore, AL(Zone 8b)

I would suggest elderberry,cherry laurel, or blueberries.

Frankfort, KY