Advice on Misting Propagation

Howe, TX(Zone 7b)

Hi all. I am a newbie to misting propagation and have been trying for months and have not had any success. Well okay have had 3 things root out of 100. I was so fascinated with the prospect of if I went all out (so I thought) got a expensive timer, in second increments, tried several different misting nozzles, ended up with brass ones rated at ½ gal per hour, after the pressure regulator (at 50 psi) was installed. Our water pressure here is 100+ psi. I have an auto drain valve at the end of my misting line. Nozzles are all on pvc pipe. I originally tried in full sun, have now decided that filtered sun is better. Cutting were all dipped in Dip and Grow Rooting Hormone and placed in straight sand. My problems. The auto drain valve takes approximately a minute or more to work once the timer (solenoid) has shut off, thus causing my nozzles to drip for that minute. So I just made sure that the misters are not directly over any cuttings. I still end up with leaves on cuttings end up rotting, the sand eventually turns green with algae, and needless to say no roots. I have tried not misting so frequently thinking I was doing it too often, then they end up burning up or drying out. My biggest question is when the misters are on, are the cuttings actually getting wet? From everything I have read it seems the mist is suppose to create humidity and maybe a very light film of water on cuttings, but not actually get them wet. Is this correct? Do I need to enclose my misting propagation bench to create a more humid environment? We live in Northern Texas, Zone 7b, it is somewhat humid. My latest attempt is I have added perlite to the sand for better drainage and semi-enclosed the propagating bench with sides of clear plexi glass. Any help on this would be sooooooooo appreciated. It sure would make my day, week, summer, if I could figure this out.

Hempstead, TX(Zone 8b)