weeping willow help

Cookeville, TN(Zone 7a)

I am very new to propagation, I have a weeping willow tree that I would love to get cuttings from, but what should I do? I need all the help I can get, where should I cut and what do I do with the cuttings? and how long does it usually take to root?

Jeanerette, LA(Zone 9b)

I take cuttings from my tree and put them in a 5 gallon bucket of water to root. Only fill the bucket with 1/4 to 1/2 of water, roots will grow where ever the water touches the cutting. It will show roots in less than a week. Weeping Willow cuttings are so easy to root this way.
I find a small branch about 2 feet tall that looks like it is a good shape to form a nice tree and cut these off, and remove all the leaves growing on it.
I then add it to the water and let them soak for a few weeks, they will have lots of roots and will have sprouted new leaves also. You can then transplant to pots or in the ground if you prefer. I have done 6 cuttings with this method and only lost one of them. The others are now young healthy trees.

Olympia, WA(Zone 7b)

I have also heard that willows have their own rooting hormone, in which case the leftover water after rooting should be great to use for rooting other plants. I've yet to try it myself, but it's a useful piece of trivia!

--DanaK

Banning, CA(Zone 9b)