Canna Seeds?

Flat Rock, NC(Zone 7b)

I'm very new to the seed collecting game. I noticed seed pods on my cannas tonight. Does anyone know if cannas come true from these? If so, I'd like information on how to collect and store these, and when best to plant them. Thank you!

Muscoda, WI(Zone 4b)

I'm gald I saw your question here. I was going to ask the same thing.

~julie~

(Maggi) Big Sandy, TX(Zone 8a)

From what I've read, if they are the hybrid Cannas - no - they do not come true, but they may produce something interesting. Species Cannas should produce true.

I've also read that you need to cut or nick the hard seed coating to get them to sprout.

We usually cut all our Canna stalks down as soon as the flowers fade to encourage new stalks and more flowers. I think this year I'll let one or two make seed and see what I get from them.

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)

Collect the seed when the pod looks brown. You will see it start to split open. I store mine in a dish for a few weeks to make sure they are good and dry. Then I'll bag them in paper and just store at room temp until I'm ready to plant around the first week in February. Any sooner here and they will get leggy. I use cuticle clippers and nick the seed coat, soak in warm water for 24 hours and then I plant. This year I used Rockwool as my planting medium and had great luck with it. Good luck. I've had some nice looking cannas from seed.

Flat Rock, NC(Zone 7b)

Well, Brugie and maggidew, thank you both so much! This is the first year of collecting seeds from ANY of my plants. I'm so glad to have help from all you folks on DG. Without you I'd be lost!

One question. What is Rockwool? I know I've heard that before, but it escapes me. Thanks again!

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)