working with Nature

Erwin, TN(Zone 7a)

I have been Experimenting for about 5 years, trying to grow vegetable plants that can be grown with out the use of any pesticide-or sprays-just organic fertilizer-I am trying to make a list of things that can be grown for food with out buying anything.
I have discovered that GMO's are out, bugs devour them first,- some things sustain bug damage, but still make a good crop, like Sweet Potatoes,--so far I have, Jerusalem Artichoke, Prickley Pear,Taro [Casia] Family,inc. Malanga, Dioscorea's, Chayote, Amaranth's, Okra, Hot peppers, Potatoes, Malabar Spinach, Bananas, Strawberries-
In the event that we have to feed our selves with out going to the store,Our family is making some preparations, and gathering some info, plants/ seed/bulbs, etc.
I would welcome any suggestions--[I realize every one is not in zone 9-but neither is all our family]

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

I never use any chemicals in my garden, on veggies or ornamentals. I will use on occassion homemade remedies for certain things with simple ingrediants (soap, vinegar, tobacco juice, etc.)
Most of what I can't keep whole I can............
Potatos, carrots, beets, squash, beans, peppers, tomatos, radishes, artichokes, some cukes, apples, grapes, plums, cherries, and blackberries.

Erwin, TN(Zone 7a)

Good for you-I like to can also--I wish I could grow Cukes out side here--the bugs are ammazing--they are biger, stronger, and more in number than any place I have gardened before

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

I was never able to grow cukes in the midwest nor in California for that reason....bugs! For some reason here they do fine. Especially the lemon cukes (great size for slicing onto sandwiches)

Erwin, TN(Zone 7a)

This is also the first place I coulden't grow Carrots in the spring--here I plant in the fall -or they get infested with fly larva [Carrot fly maggots, I suppose]

Seattle, WA(Zone 8b)

Never heard of em...don't want em....you can keep em. :-)