We've still got some 'bears' .. Yay!!

NW Qtr, AR(Zone 6a)

'Howdy' ..

I'm a newbie here to DG .. but am mitey anxious to share some of our little Ozark wildlife experiences with you guys! So, if you'll have me - here I am! ..

In a nutshell .. we moved here to the NW section of Arkansas about 8 years ago. We built our home, right smack dab in the middle of unimproved land, bordered by National Forest. We love it!

Creating our vegetable garden spots, have proven quite a bit of a challenge and wee bit of work .. but by golly, we've got it whooped! hee We've also learned, and have proof - that rocks do breed!! .. hee .. The garden pics can come later, and on the proper threads ...

Some may would say, that it is 'unfortunate' .. that we built in what's also considered ideal Timber Rattler country; somewhat rocky, very hilly terrain. Our first few years have been 'touchy' to say the least .. with becoming acquainted with the booger vermin!!

Anyway .. This unimproved land, also serves as ideal wildlife habitat for quite a variety of other vermin also; deer, turkey, hog, bob cat, coyote, and bear!!

I do sincerely believe that the criiters actually felt like WE were imposing on THEM - and rightly so. I wholeheartedly agree - we did! They've finally realized, that they've got to reroute their paths around our house and immediate yard! hee hee See, we've cleared only what we've felt was required .. of the wonderful hardwood forests our property .. for the house, a place to park and turn around, a nice little garden spot up above us, and a few flower 'bed' areas .. and our .4 of a mile driveway! ha The rest .. is dedicated to vermin sprawl and habitat !!

See, we're realizing that can't just anybody sit on their front porch in the early morn, or late evening .. and be graced with such wonderful wild presence as the vermin we've heard and seen, and have had the pleasure of shooting - with my digital camera, that is !!!!!