rooting roses...

Birmingham, AL(Zone 8a)

I want to do some cuttings of Pat Austin and Margo Koster for some people - any advice like new wood or old, lots of humidity or not, etc. Could do Google research but too tired...(lazy) so hoping for some input here. Have shade house - no greenhouse, usually mist several times on hot days. Temps here in high 90's.

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)

I'm no pro, but one summer we had a bad storm that knocked the canes of a couple of my tea roses off, clear to the ground. I found them the next morning and stuck them in coffee cans filled with wet sand. The cans had drainage holes. It took about six weeks or so and the roots started. From three or four canes, I got a couple of them to root. Kept them in shade. I'm guessing that semi hard wood would work well. I still have one of those roses and the mother plant is long gone. Hope someone will come along and give you the real scoop, but when in doubt.....punt!!

Good luck.

Birmingham, AL(Zone 8a)

Thanks Brugie - didn't even know hybrid teas would grow off their own roots! Gonna try that...!

Lake Toxaway, NC(Zone 7a)

The old way used to be to put a cutting in the soil and put an inverted quart canning jar over it. Nowadays a lot of folks use plastic containers, like a milk jug, because they can control the climate a little better with holes in the jug or taking the top off in really hot weather. Be sure to water the soil well around the cutting before you put the jug or jar over it. It seems like about half the ones with the jars rooted. Of course, you can dip it in a little rootone or soak it with willow leaves and stems for a day, first.

This message was edited Jul 25, 2004 6:26 PM

Allen Park, MI(Zone 6a)

If you root a hybrid tea, will it be true to the variety or the root stock??

Paul

Paul it will be the hybrid because you take the cutting above the graft. So it is actually a clone........