What's eating my (new) potatoes?

Fritch, TX(Zone 6b)

This is my first year with a large garden. My potatoes (3 varieties) are barely underground, with 12-18 inches of hay over them. I went to give them a little drink yesterday (103 degrees), and decided to get some new potatoes. I couldn't get hold of them through the dirt, so I just pulled up a couple of plants of each variety.

There were one to three per plant of small (half dollar sized or smaller) tubers, and then there were roots with gooey-goo on the end. I figured out that was the remains of what was eaten. I have searched all over the web and dave's garden, and still don't know what is eating them or what to do.

I garden organically, so most sprays are out of the question. Should I consider just pulling the plants and taking what I have, or are these critters likely to leave me half?

Originally, I planted these with the intention of using for seed next year. Then I read that you should only use certified seed (I planted certified seed this year). I planted them for a late crop, they have been in the ground about 55 days. They have lots of tiny bulbs forming, so there will be lots of potatoes if they aren't all eaten.

Sorry, my digital camera is on the fritz, or I would post a photo.

Also, the Kennebec were the larger, the all-Red and All-Blue are currently quite small still. They were all planted at the same time, and bloomed within two weeks of each other.

Thanks for listening and all your help. It can get frustrating trying to figure all this out myself. Dave's Garden is grrrr-eat!

Augusta, GA(Zone 8a)