HELP! Propagating Purple Velvet Plant

La Plata, MD(Zone 7a)

I'm new to the gardening world and need some help. I received clippings of this beautiful plant, the Purple Velvet Plant (aka Purple Passion Vine). I was told to put them in water while they sprout roots. They've been in water for about 6 days. I received about 5 clippings. On 1 clipping, two of the leaves are turning yellow. I read that this can be a sign of overwatering, but since it is in water, wouldn't that be expected? I added a few drops of Miracle Grow liquid plant food. Is this not the proper way to propagate this plant? Please help! The other clippings seem to be doing fine, but if I'm doing something wrong, I want to catch it early. I don't want to kill this beautiful plant. Thanks for your help & guidance!

La Plata, MD(Zone 7a)

ok, so I did some research at the library and on these forums. I made a rooting media consisting of 1/2 perlite and 1/2 peat moss. It says to keep it moist. how moist is too moist? When the water drains out to the bottom, should I leave it in there?

Thanks in advance!

Atascadero, CA(Zone 8a)

Hi kcherest...there are 2 varieties of this beautiful plant listed in the plants database: http://plantsdatabase.com/go/55063/index.html http://plantsdatabase.com/go/2570/index.html

Both list leaf cuttings as method of propagation. There's a helpful thread of propagation methods, that includes at least 2 ways with leaf cuttings:
http://davesgarden.com/t/367693

Hope this helps, janet :-)

La Plata, MD(Zone 7a)

thanks so much...I'll read it tonight. Lots of good info!

La Plata, MD(Zone 7a)

I put them in a 1/2 perlite and 1/2 peat moss mixture. I pressed down, but don't want to smother the little guys. They seem to be kind of wiggly in the rooting media. How firm does this need to be?

Also, a few leaves turned yellow and brown...so I clipped them off. Does this mean that the stem is not going to make it?

Guilford, CT(Zone 7a)