Should all seedlings be pinched back?

Lenexa, KS(Zone 6a)

This is my first year starting seeds indoors. I've got zinnias, calendula, and columbine that are getting pretty tall and have several sets of leaves. Do these need to be pinched? What are the rules on pinching back? Thanks! Brenda

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

I never pinch seedlings. Let them develop a few true leaves before considering pinching them. I also wait to do my pinching when I transplant them outdoors.

duluth, MN(Zone 4a)

I have pinched back seedlings like impatiens that are starting to get to leggy, usually because I started them to soon. but I don't consider doing so until the plants have several leaves. I think it helps the plants to fill out.

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

I guess to me, seedlings are what you have before you get true leaves - that is why I don't pinch them.

Lenexa, KS(Zone 6a)

Karrie--so I've got about 6-8 leaves on each of the zinnias, in your opinion it's okay to go ahead and pinch since it's still a bit early for me to put them out??

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

probably - I've just never done it that way. It would probably help prevent them from getting too lanky, and help them bush out better. Maybe you should just do half of them, so you can compare?

Colorado Springs, CO(Zone 6a)

i think with zinnias in particular, it would be good to pinch them back. i grew zinnias from seed last year and didnt do anything but water them and they grew over 7 feet long (not tall, since they fell over at about 3 ft) !! but thats just in my experience.

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

I grew some zinnias once that got very very tall - I definitely planted them in the wrong place - looked like a sore thumb! I decided from then on to do dwarfs!

Hillsboro, OH(Zone 6a)

This showed up in my email today courtesy of arcamax, info from NGA. I thought of you. :)

Question: Do any of the following plants need to be pinched back for thicker growth: snapdragons, impatiens, petunias, and salvia?