Heating Greenhouses

Erwin, TN(Zone 7a)

I heat with Diesel -it is less expensive than Gas, and the heater units are less $ also-Diesel also has more BTU per gal -136000 compared to 90+ 000 for propane-I built a homemade heater for $400 that can max out at 270,000 BTU /hr-If anyone is interested I will share what I have done--Michael

Willacoochee, GA(Zone 8b)

of course I'm interested...
especially if it could run bio-diesel.

drew

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

sounds mighty interesting to me, too. Gonna post plans, or more info?

Erwin, TN(Zone 7a)

I have been heating greenhouses for the last 10 years with this home-made heater--I made it with an incinerator unit I bought from Burn Easy [I will include the address below] and 55 gal drums--[free]I cut a 16 inch diameter hole in the center of the drums [except the ones at each end] and bolted them together to form a long tube-I then hooked up the flue pipe to one end and the heat unit to the other-I put a thermostat [from Graingers] in the power supply line and a tank-[or gas can of Diesel in florida] and a filter-I burn a mixture of Diesel and drain oil[no more than 25%] and you can burn Bio Fuels as long as you insure there is ample lubricant to protect the life of the pump[$50 if you don't]--alcohol does not work alone-you must add drain-oil or diesel---Bio-Diesel may by fine[probly]--it has been trouble free for 10 years-except for replacing pumps when I was learning--

You dont need the Incinerator--Just the heater unit that they put on the Incinerators- [replacement Burner]

Burn-Easy Animal Carcass Incinerators
R&K Incinerator Co.
Decator,IN 46733
!-800-233-1163

Lary Lewis Livestock Incinerator
Cedar,Iowa 52543
Sales-515-933-4762--Service 800-933-4761

National Incinerator Inc.
Boaz,AL 35957
205-589-6720 fax205-589-2326

Thumbnail by Michaelp
Erwin, TN(Zone 7a)